I Want So Much More For You, My Darling Daughter

As I sit here and watch you sleep, in total peace and total trust, I can’t help but think of all the things I want for you. I want to protect the heart and spirit of the amazing young lady you are growing up to be. 

I want to protect your loving heart which asked the representative, as we opened your bank account this weekend, if you could “put a bunch of money in savings and then when you have a whole lot, give it to the homeless.” I have to tell you, I was so proud of you and your generous heart.

I want to protect your inquisitive mind that wants to learn Spanish, and Google everything you don’t know. I want to protect that flexibility and that love of learning that will serve you so well as you go through life.

I want to protect your budding wanderlust. Two years ago, you told me you wanted to go to China and asked if we could go someday. I had just separated from your dad, and was buried under financial burdens so I gave you the generic “Yeah, maybe one day.” But now I want to actually plan for it. I have been thinking of thinking of taking a solo trip to Spain for my 40th birthday as my own big ticket, far away plan. But now, I don’t want to wait until I’m forty, and I don’t want to go alone. I want to begin saving for it right now so that I can go in a year or two and take you with me.

You see, a long time I ago, I was a little girl with big dreams and an even bigger heart. And over the years, my heart and my dreams have taken more than a few hits. I see so much of my younger self in you, and I want to protect that. I never want you to lose yourself and have to rediscover yourself as I have. So to me, as your mom, that means encouraging your big heart, your love of learning, and your desire to see the world. Because if I teach you, that you can have that kind of life and those kind of dreams now, maybe just maybe, you will avoid the belief that you ever have to put limits on those dreams. And maybe just maybe, you will have the courage and strength to pursue and live the kind of life you want to live when you are out on your own. 

And I’m here to help you with that, because I want so much more for you, my darling daughter.

6 thoughts on “I Want So Much More For You, My Darling Daughter

  1. sdcannon says:

    !!!

    Awe..this is what it’s all about. It’s a tough line to walk nurturing the good in yourself that you see in your kids, and also trying to keep them from developing some of your more terrifying characteristics! Very sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

      • sdcannon says:

        I had a big nerd moment when my youngest was 3 last year. She said she wanted to be ‘just’ a mommy when she grew up. I tried to tell her she could do whatever she wanted to do and that she’d be a great mama cause she’s so sweet, and I couldn’t get through it cause I teared up! The world is so scary, I have to put out of mind everything that’s going to come at them. The innocence. Groan.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. JBourne says:

    Thank you so much! As a single Dad of TWO BEAUTIFUL TEENAGE DAUGHTERS I couldn’t help but smile and laugh and think of all the wonder and amazement and adventure my Girls have ahead of them….and how ill-equipped I am, was and will yet be, to be the Dad they deserve. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • curvescurlsandsmiles says:

      Thank you so much JBourne, I think it’s a given that we all want the best for our kids, but I think at some point many of us realize that in order to teach them to reach for their dreams, we have to show them that we are willing to reach for ours.

      Like

Leave a comment